Repetition is a Double-Edged Sword

I love that my toddler is talking. I love hearing her speak. I love finding out what she thinks about … everything. I love hearing her repeat what we’ve taught her. I love hearing her repeat what she’s heard in movies in books, what resonates with her.

I really, really do.

I love hearing it fifty-seven times a day on repeat. Her first favorite was, “Sleeping Beauty pricked her finger on the spindle of a spinning wheel.” Complicated sentence, yes. Was I proud? Yes!

Was I proud the fifty-eighth time she said it every day for a two month period? Yes, but much, much less so.

Much, MUCH less so.

I also heard it in my own head, on repeat. And my husband and I said it to each other in her voice and inflections after she went to sleep, just because it was super cute. All fifty-eight times. Thanks, kiddo. Thanks.

 

Like what you’ve read? Here’s more!

When toddlers quote Cinderella

My toddler can find imagination!

Proof my child is growing up digital

One thought on “Repetition is a Double-Edged Sword

  1. Pingback: Thanks for Being, Babies! | welcometothenursery

Leave a Reply

