Sweet Memories Friday: Getting Through the Tough Times of Motherhood

If I had a dime for every time I’ve heard, “This too shall pass,” I’d be able to buy the entire menu at Starbucks – venti size. Yeah, yeah, yeah – I’m sure it will pass, but I and every other mom think, “Not fast enough!” when going through a really rough patch:

… a nap strike

… flash picky eating or refusal to eat

… regression in a skill (i.e. potty training)

… one of those “Wonder Weeks” … AKA clingyness, crankiness, and crying … AKA hell

… a rash of toddler tantrums

I could go on and on. These phases come and go, but boy do they suck the big one when they arrive. What’s one of my tricks for seeing the proverbial light at the end of the tunnel?

I think of how my childhood was growing up with my sister and mom (excluding my dad for a minute because I’m focusing on mother-daughter bonding) … it was a very sweet time and we had so much fun – going rollerblading after dinner, school clothes shopping at the mall, and special lunches out at Pranges in Green Bay (wow, really dating myself with that long-forgotten reference).

Those memories of my own childhood remind me that I have a lot to look forward to with my daughters, and if there are trying times now (as in, can I pull out any more hair right now?!) there will hopefully be more enjoyable times later on to balance things out. If my two daughters and I had half the fun that my mom, sister, and I did, then we’re in for a great growing up.

So, I guess this will pass, and I have a lot to look forward to….

 

Like what you’ve read? There’s more!

Leave a Reply

