If You’re Patient and You Know It, Clap Your Mom-Hands!

I’ve done a lot of thinking about this (usually while I talk to myself in my head while my toddler spends fifty minutes washing her hands or my baby nurses and nurses and nurses), and I’m pretty sure the #1 personality trait mothers need for success is patience.

Forget being “nice.”

Forget being “caring.”

Forget being “supportive.”

(Okay, those help – don’t get me wrong.)

But if you can’t be calm during a tantrum or watching Cinderella for the 37th time or reading her favorite book for the 89th time in a row … I tell you, this job is gonna eat you aliiiiive….

 

Like this post? Read on!

 

4 thoughts on “If You’re Patient and You Know It, Clap Your Mom-Hands!

    • Yeah, that’s a very description of it. I’m learning to let go of how I expect things to be done (i.e., how I do them), and sometimes I do a little mental trick of thinking of something else while I wait for her to finish doing her task.

      Maybe I want it to be called “patience” because that’s a much more positive and socially acceptable term. I think you nailed it, though….

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Pingback: Speed Up = Slow Down (To a Toddler) | welcometothenursery

  2. Pingback: How I Won My Mom Card | welcometothenursery

Leave a Reply

