Little Baby, You’re My Favorite. (Not Really.)

A mom friend – who has a toddler and a baby just about the same age as my two girls – told me she sometimes whispers, “You’re my favorite” to her baby … because sometimes toddlers are just so difficult and, well, in comparison a sweet little baby is so easy to be #1 at times.

So now I’ve started to do the same – just on those days when nursing or holding my darling baby is the only haven I have from an otherwise exhausting day of nap striking, tantrums, and not sharing toys.

But I have to whisper because I swear my toddler has bionic hearing. And even then I have to be in another room, too, just in case; I don’t want her to think her little sister is really my favorite. (It’s a tie, of course.)

Leave a Reply

