Wait, Toothpaste and Medicine AREN’T Candy?!

… Someone should tell the pharmaceutical companies, ’cause they’ve sure been fooling my kids!

Grape-flavored liquid acetaminophen for Baby? Check.

Cherry-flavored ibuprofen pill for Toddler? Check.

Fruit punch-flavored fluoride-free toothpaste for Toddler? Check.

When they need medicine, they are thrilled to take it because it tastes like a treat. And I cannot stop Toddler from swallowing her toothpaste, which sucks because she’ll need to start using fluoride toothpaste soon, which she definitely cannot swallow.

wp_20161221_14_06_10_pro

Berry flavor and grape flavor … yum!

Don’t get me wrong – I’m glad they are cajoled easily enough to take medicine when they need it, but does it have to taste so sweet / fruity? Can it just taste neutral? Or minty? Because …

… Sometimes Toddler tells me she needs to take medicine, but I can’t tell if it’s because she has pain (when she’s sick, from a sore throat, eg.) or if she just wants to eat a sweet. And of course when I ask her, she just smiles sweetly and cocks her head, saying, “I don’t know!” Thank you, pharma companies, for confusing my child with medicine and candy!

Does anyone else have this problem? What do you do to set them straight?

Leave a Reply

