Sweet Memories Friday: When a Kid Listens, Period.

I can compare Baby to Toddler really easily now, and the differences are sometimes amusing, sometimes irritating, but always stark.

Let’s focus today on how a kid listens and responds.

Me asking Toddler to do something => “No!” or “I don’t waaant to!” or “I’m busy working on a setup with my Barbies!” or “I don’t feel my pee!”

Me asking Baby to do something (eg. “Walk over here! Come on! You can do it!”) => Baby does exactly what I ask.

Hallelujah! So easy! No angst! No argument! Wow, life is easy with a baby who doesn’t talk back! I miss that. I forgot how easy life can be when your kid actually does what you ask. I can’t even describe how nice it is when there is no back talk or complaining.

You know what I mean?

Not that Toddler is mean about it or rude – not too much, anyway, as she’s generally quite a good kid – but just having someone smaller than you argue with you all day long … and win the argument frequently (“argument,” of course) is exhausting.

I love my baby, I love my baby, I love my baby….

2 thoughts on “Sweet Memories Friday: When a Kid Listens, Period.

  1. Oh boy, it does get worse as they grow too! Not to discourage you, but they sometimes have really good arguments that make sense and you let it go. But it does challenge you, doesn’t it?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

