The Blogger Tag – More About Me Than You Ever Wanted To Know!

For a change here, I have a fun post that came my way via the lovely Valerie at Living Lighter in Atlanta. I was tagged to answer questions about myself as she did here. Some of these are a bit thought-provoking…. Here are my answers, and at the end I tagged a few other bloggers.

Question 1: How tall are you?

Hmm, just like my tagger Valerie, I’m 5’4″. Usually I feel pretty short, especially compared to my parents. My kids are 75% and 95% percentile height, so clearly height skipped my generation!

Question 2: Do you have a hidden talent?

I don’t think of myself as really talented at any one thing, actually – more of a “jack of all trades.” I write pretty well (cross your fingers my sci fi debut novel out for submission gets picked up!), I can sew things, I pick up languages pretty well (my new goal is to learn German in the next few years), and I can paint okay. Maybe that’s my hidden talent – painting, though I only do one every 8 years or so. Right now I’m finishing an oil painting for my husband. Just don’t ask me to sing!

Question 3: What’s your biggest blog-related pet peeve?

Funnily enough … being long-winded. As I get older I want to read more short, well-written pieces. Succinct and beautiful language wins! I say funny because I struggle with this myself. My goal is to write funny stories in as few but as entertaining words as possible.

Question 4: What’s your biggest non-related blog pet peeve?

Hard to choose, haha. Probably loud crunching or smacking or slurping. Ugh.

Question 5: What’s your favorite song?

Chopin’s Nocturne Op 9 No 2. Loved it so much I walked down the aisle to it. But a billion other songs are tied for #2!

Question 6: What’s your favorite social media website?

Facebook, though at the moment it’s so toxic I can barely stand it. I’m only on it because my mom’s group is FB-based.

Question 7: What’s your favorite way to spend your time when you’re alone?

Writing, reading, cooking, painting, crafting, watching a movie with my husband and falling asleep on the couch under a really furry blanket.

Question 8: What’s your favorite junk food?

CHOCOLATE!

Question 9: Do you have a pet or pet(s)? If so, what kind and what are their names?

No.

Question 10: What are your number one favorite non-fiction and fiction books?

Hmm, fiction would be Pride and Prejudice, though only because there are 7 instead of 1 Harry Potter books. For fiction … gah … either William Shirer’s Berlin Diary or Barbara Tuchman’s A Distant Mirror (medieval history).

Question 11: What’s your favorite beauty product or tool?

Brown eyeliner.

Question 12: When were you last embarrassed? What happened?

Probably last week when Toddler dropped a whole bag of green grapes at the grocery store and I had no choice but to leave it on the floor and keep shopping. At least I nudged it as close to the wall as possible so I wouldn’t trip an old lady or something. I did apologize to passerby.

Question 13: If you could only drink one beverage (besides water) for the rest of your life what would it be?

Coffee, with cream. Although if there were no consequences I’d be fine with champagne instead….

Question 14: What’s your favorite movie?

Oh geez…. Probably the adaptations of my favorite movies (see above)! 1995 BBC version of P&P, please!

Question 15: What was your favorite lesson at school?

Tough – I was a total nerd and loved 95% of my school lessons! I loved acting out scenes from Shakespeare in high school English, pretty much all of my French classes, learning the unit circle in math (oh, the power of π!), grade 11 and OAC accounting classes in my Ontario high school, and designing house floor plans in a design and engineering class. Sorry that I can’t pick! I have too many interests.

Question 16: If you could live anywhere in the world, where would you live?

Paris. Although to quote Gertrude Stein, America is my country and Paris is my hometown.

Question 17: PC or Mac?

PC! Even my phone runs Windows!

Question 18: Last romantic gesture from a crush, date, boy/girlfriend, spouse?

Romantic? Hmm. My husband got us tickets (a birthday present to me) to see the first Harry Potter movie with the score played live by an orchestra. Do you see a pattern here???

Question 19: Favorite celebrity?

Harrison Ford, circa anytime.

Question 20: What blogger do you secretly want to be best friends with?

Uhhh … hmm. Probably Joy Wilson of Joy the Baker … because she’d always bring ridiculously awesome food over.

Question 21: Who is your biggest inspiration?

Kinda sad, but I can’t pinpoint this. When I read success stories in my Writer’s Digest magazine about authors getting published after a lot of hard work, that inspires me. People unrelentingly following their dreams inspire me. People with good time management skills inspire me.

Question 22: What is your favorite blog to read?

For a mom-related blog, I’m really digging my tagger, livinglighterinatlanta! I also don’t miss a post of thegymter.net

Question 23: What is your favorite high street shop?

Hmm, clearly a question originally from a UK blog! I’ll be honest – I’m not sure the last time I bought clothes for myself! A year and a half ago, maybe? I feel unqualified to answer this!

Question 24: Are you in education or do you work?

Both – I work at home educating my children … and keeping them alive … you know, like, “Don’t touch the woodstove!” and “Orange vegetables are high in vitamin C and beta carotene” (my 3yo is incredibly fond of this) and “Your pupil is the black dot in the middle of your eye, and it changes size depending on how bright it is .”

Question 25: One thing you are proud of?

My kids, yeah, but mostly of my relationship with my husband. We never scream at each other and are generally in true sync with each other. I guess that helps us be better parents, too.

 

I’m tagging:

Kerri at Some Kind of Beautiful Chaos

Darlene at Baby Costs Money

Janine at Raising the Fords

Carrie at Mummy123

10 thoughts on “The Blogger Tag – More About Me Than You Ever Wanted To Know!

  1. I loved reading your answers! I related to so many of them. My 13yr old is learning German and I want to one day as well (and he’s been watching the Indiana Jones movies the last few nights – we like Harrison Ford, too!)
    I love Harry Potter, and I can’t wait to go with Maggie to HP World someday! Have you been?
    My phone is Windows as well although I’m thinking of getting an iPhone soon (a 5s, not the newest one). I like Windows!
    I think it’s AWESOME that your marriage is strong!!!!!!!!!! That’s becoming more and more rare, but it’s super important for children. ^_^
    I love your blog, too! Have a great day!

    Liked by 2 people

    • Thanks for the kind comments!!
      I think knowing German will make watching movies more fun – from the (awesome) Indiana Jones movies to The Man In The High Castle to all the great WWII movies….
      We went to HP World in Jan 2010 because Diagon Alley was added, and we were six adults. We had a blast! We didn’t do any of the kid activities like the wand shop, but the rides were a lot of fun and the atmosphere was really fantastic. Good butterbeer and pumpkin juice, too, haha.
      I love having my Windows phone connected to my laptop via OneDrive; I suppose it’s like idrive for Apple. It’d be nice to have apps, I suppose, since there are so few Windows apps, but I think it keeps me off my phone.
      Very right about a strong marriage – we have to set a good example for our children, right?! 🙂

      Like

  2. Hi! My mom (livinglighterinatlanta) recommended that I come check out your blog, and I already love it! 😊 I can’t believe that you loved acting out Shakespeare in high school – I haven’t had the chance to yet, but one of my dreams is to act in a Shakespearean play! ❤ I hope you have a great day! 😄

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for stopping by! So sweet! I will check out your blog. 🙂
      Follow your dreams! You can act in high school (I actually did set design in high school because my acting/singing stinks and there was a lot of talent in my school .. so the play part I acted was in English class, haha!), or after. One of my friends did a small local theater production in NYC (we live close to the city) of Romeo and Juliet, and it was his first acting role at age 27… so it’s never too late.

      Liked by 1 person

      • You’re welcome! 😊 Yeah, it might still be a while before I’m able to act, but I’m looking forward to the day when I’m finally able to! What’s your favorite work of Shakespeare? I love Hamlet and A Midsummer Night’s Dream.

        Liked by 1 person

        • Always good to have goals and dreams! I too liked Hamlet (never read AMND!), but I think MacBeth was perhaps my favorite. R&J is good, too – famous for a reason. I honeymooned in Scotland and actually visited Glamis Castle where MacBeth was supposedly set – and lemme tell you it does fit the bill! I like to be able to put a clear setting of a play in my head.

          Liked by 1 person

          • AMND is wonderful! I love how whimsical and fantasy-like the whole play is, as most of Shakespeare’s other works aren’t at all like it. Plus, it has some pretty funny lines! I have yet to read Macbeth, but that’s awesome that you got to go to Glamis Castle! I bet that was a great experience.

            Like

Leave a Reply

