Why So Many “Why”s? – Plus a Giveaway Soon!

question-marksYou’ve heard the saying, “There’s no such thing as a stupid question,” right? That may fly in middle school and high school, but does it apply to a toddler?

Let’s analyze some recent “Why?” questions I’ve been posed lately by Toddler, shall we? (Yes, I’ve noted that all three sentences so far in this post have been questions.)

  • Why is this a monkey? [Toddler was pointing to a monkey.]
  • Why will I be a girl tomorrow, too?
  • Why is today Tuesday? [It was, indeed, a Tuesday.]
  • Why are these my socks? [Toddler was putting on her socks.]
  • Why is this green paper?

These are the questions that sometimes leave me agape, thinking, “How can I answer this creatively without just saying, ‘Becauseย it is?‘” The answers are obvious to us parents; I can’t tell if my daughter doesn’t know the answer, is looking for a deeper explanation, or is just “filling space” by asking any old question.

Now let’s compare those questions to the more thought-provoking ones:

  • Why does it rain?
  • Why are rainbows different colors?
  • Why does Dorothy want to go home?
  • Why does the magnet stick to this metal thing?
  • Why do I have skin all over me?

These are the questions I actually really like answering! I love learning new things or discussing books, and I can tell Toddler does, too. Of course, her attention span for the answers only lasts so long before she interrupts with, for example, “Look at my pretty leggings, mama!”

Just for kicks, a few days ago I decided to count up all the “Why” questions Toddler posed. Of course, day 1 was noticeably a light day – and the count was just 35. The next day was back to normal – a whopping 60! And that doesn’t even count the “Who?” “What?” “Where?” “When?” and “How?” questions … I’m scared to do a total tally.

It’s no wonder that some evenings I’m exhausted just from talking!

So back to the “stupid question” thing …. I’m not implying my toddler is stupid, but inwardly I laugh a bit at the quality of her questions and wonder what response she’d get if she were a decade or a decade and a half older.

* * *

And now to the giveaway! I’m planning next week to do a special post for a giveaway! Why am I doing this? (Haha – “Why?”) Because I’ve enjoyed blogging so much and value all of you who take the time to read my blog and interact with me. It’s one of my daily highlights! So here is a way I can say, “Thank you!”

Stay tuned for an exciting chance to win something pretty fun … well, fun for moms and/or little girls … that’s all I’m gonna say right now!! I’m really looking forward to it and thrilled one of my readers will have a chance to win something great!

14 thoughts on “Why So Many “Why”s? – Plus a Giveaway Soon!

  1. I hate those first types of “why” questions! I never know what to answer and usually resort to “because that’s the way it is”. It is insanely tiring to be bombarded with very important toddler questions! Oooooh a giveaway? Interesting!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. My kids have moved on to the “What if…?” questions. “What if you had five hands, Mom?” “What if there was a dinosaur in our backyard?” “What if I found $100 buried in the sand?”
    It’s endless!!! ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yeah, it’s truly a double-edged sword – the conversation is welcome, but after awhile it is a bit overwhelming … and tiring …. Buy earplugs! Just kidding. I’m sure he’ll have a ton of fascinating things to say!!

      Like

  3. Ha! Lately my toddler has been asking everyone what their name is. She already knows — and sometimes says it *while* asking the name — but is asking over and over anyway. Google became my friend early on with Little Man and his whys ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

    • yep… I think that falls under the category of stupid questions …. I do say that kindly! These kids … I think they also just love talking – or perhaps they figure out the answer as they’re asking the question. Their brains must go 50mph!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Hehehee! Tiring aren’t they! I read somewhere on a research stating that toddlers ask an average of 300+ questions p/day. That’s close to 1 every minute. :p
    Questions are good…sometimes when they ask me why, I just ask them back with a “why do you think that is?” It’s quite hilarious what they can come up with!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. LOL! “Why is this a monkey?” is hilarious!! Hahaha, I can’t get over that. I get lots of why questions and what ifs as well, but I’m not sure your first round of questions ever came my way! Your girl is creative!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • People say that she’s creative, yes. Hmm. Maybe you all are right! She’s certainly something!!!!! I love her and want to pull my hair out from her each day. But she makes me smile and think and laugh. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

  6. Pingback: GIVEAWAY!!! Piggy Paint For Your Little Piggies! | welcometothenursery

Leave a Reply

