Toddler Talk Tuesday – The Bedtime Ritual

Ever since our 3yo (nearly 4) learned how to spell her name, she started saying something funny at bedtime just as I or my husband (whoever is laying her down that night) leave the room.

She loves to say:

“Don’t forget your word! Don’t forget: It’s [her name, correctly spelled]. That spells [her name] … and ‘word.'”

(And her pronunciation, usually pretty clear, makes this sound like, “Don’t ferget yer werd”!!!)

First off, how can a word, spelled out, spell two words??

Usually her spelling is, well, hit-or-miss. She’s still a wee one, right? But it still reminds me, as it did two months ago, of a humorous portion of “The Stand.” I mean, she can spell some basic words, which is fun to practice with her and see her pride, but I’m not expecting her to start writing sentences anytime soon.

Especially not after tonight, when there was this exchange:

Toddler: “Don’t forget your word, dad! Don’t forget, it’s S-H-A-S-H.”

Husband: “Uhh … shash?

Toddler: “Yeah! Don’t forget your word!”

But does it also spell “word?”

I just can’t wait to hear what comes out tomorrow!

 

13 thoughts on “Toddler Talk Tuesday – The Bedtime Ritual

  1. When are you going to switch from “Toddler and Baby” to “Preschooler and Toddler”?

    I got to see my toddler niece over the weekend, and she was SO adorable with the things she said. She can say her name, age, and birthday, though she hasn’t learned spelling yet. “I like your mouth! I like your teeth!” she said right away to Unpredictable, who was very flattered.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Aaaw this is so cute! My eldest (6) is obsessed with the meaning of her name. I once told her what it meant and now she tells everyone. It’s funny how they get things stuck in their heads and it becomes so important to them.

    Also, congratulations because someone loved this post so much, they added it to the #blogcrush linky party. Feel free to collect your “I’ve been featured” blog badge. #blogcrush

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

